Sunday, April 29, 2012

Chaos Walking Book One

The Knife of Never Letting Go, by Patrick Ness

Hardcover, $12.97 
ISBN: 978-0763639310

When Earth becomes overcrowed, a group of forward thinking adults head to a new planet to reestablish a more simple way of life.  However, when the native inhabitants of the planet become involved, the adults make a decision that will change everything.
Main character, Todd Hewitt, is the youngest member of his town at 13 years old.  There are no women and with his upcoming 14th birthday, new changes are ahead for Todd.  At 14 everyone changes, but is it for good or bad?  Todd's guardians will do anything to keep Todd from being initiated on his 14th birthday, including making him run away.  As events unfold, Todd stumbles upon a crashed spacecraft and soon realizes that more Earthlings are on the way and the first one is a girl his own age.
A page-turning, fast-paced saga about the coming of age, self-discovery, perseverance, and survival; readers of all ages will learn respect for Todd and cheer him on more than any other protagonist!
 Other books in the Chaos Walking series include The Ask and the Answer and Monsters of Men.